AS* PAPANGUS

our carnival, our body, our fight

AS_Website_new

:: For the German text, please change the language setting of the website or click here.::

Our carnival, our body, our fight

In October 2019, in the city of Bezerros located in the countryside of Pernambuco, Brazil, I met Papangus. The Papangu mask has been part of the Pernambuco imagination for at least a century and is activated by the people on the streets during the carnival, complemented by a full-body costume. The residents of Bezerros say that the mask was used by men to play the carnival hidden from women*, that they dressed up in Papangu and partied without being recognized. Where, in this popular imagination, are the Papangu women*? (Bruna Amaro)

AS* PAPANGUS is a carnival for, by and with women* that does not objectify any marginalized body.

In AS* PAPANGUS, the Afro-Brazilian artist Bruna Amaro performs a carnival in its most queer-feminist and decolonial form, with more than 50 women* in São Paulo and Berlin. Under the Papangu masks, facial identities fade away and a collective body appears. This body is a battlefield for survival, resistance and rebuilding. AS* PAPANGUS is a coming-together of women* fighters to honor and celebrate their life and survival.

AS* PAPANGUS Workshop

In this participatory project, a series of performance workshops lays ground for the following acts. During the two-day workshop in São Paulo, the artist and the participants collectively build up movements and statements for their street performance. Phrases manifesting experiences of survival, transformation and labor, are embroidered on the costumes handmade by Bruna Amaro and the seamstress Eliana Amaro dos Santos.

In the street performance on April 10, 40 women* walk down the streets of São Paulo with the Papangu clothes on, with the statements on their chest, braced with handcrafted props, and dancing to the festive music. As they let their bodies speak, the bodies become flags of triumph.

AS* PAPANGUS Street

In the following multimedial exhibition at Oyoun Berlin from April 30 to May 27, the video documentation of the carnival performance in São Paulo will be projected on the costumes and masks. The costumes from São Paulo are revived by 10 women* in Berlin, who participate in a two-day workshop and in the following street performance in the neighborhood of Oyoun. The procession on the streets of Berlin-Neukölln invites other FLINTA persons to join the walk.

I understand the Papangu mask as an object that covers the face and the body, in direct reference to some cultures of the West of the African continent — such as the Geledes of Yoruba people, and the Bobo people in Burkina Faso. I also think of it as a magical and powerful object, as in the Noh and Balinese theaters — the trigger of incarnation. We will activate the Papangu mask, while we celebrate our covered faces and exposed bodies, claiming the right for festive anonymity. (Bruna Amaro)

In patriarchal societies, men are often given the exclusive right to perform on stage, to wear masks as an performative tool and as an outlet for artistic expression — as in Bezerros tradition where only men used to wear the Papangu masks. Through AS* PAPANGUS, Bruna Amaro questions: who gets to be anonymous, who gets to be free from social norms, who gets to indulge in the moment of liberation? Papangu women* on the streets of São Paulo and Berlin reclaim the rights to mask themselves while enlivening its magical power.

AS* PAPANGUS critically engages with the colonial matrix of carnival, staying alert to oppressive gaze and disallowing exploitation of queer bodies, bodies of women*, of color, with disabilities, and the bodies under structural oppression. Papangu women* do not walk down the streets to be consumed, they walk to celebrate themselves.

AS* PAPANGUS opens the first chapter of Oyoun’s curatorial focus Mightier than a Trampled Flower, which centralizes life of women* in wars from a decolonial context and deconstructs the canonical narratives of women* in war.

 

Curator: Dami Choi (Oyoun)

Produced by Oyoun Berlin with the kind support of the Goethe-Institut São Paulo.

For the public program of AS* PAPANGUS, click here.

AS* PAPANGUS sketch by Bruna Amaro
Bruna Amaro

contributors

Performers Sao Paulo

Thais Aline Ferreira Lúcio da Silva, Flávia Fernandes Belletati, Carmen Cardoso Garcia, Ana Paula da Paz Alves, Juliana Bueno, Iasmin Souza Ribeiro, Larissa Maranho, Clarissa Teixeira Ximenes, Anelise Torres Blanco, Camila de Sousa Trindade, Gabriela Bergamasco, Ana Luiza Chieffi , Iara Santa Clara Coutinho, Graciela Pereira Cruz Soares, Mariana Queiroz da Silva, Melissa Menezes, Gabriela Zuculin, Andressa Arena da Silva, Núria Cordeiro Vieira, Tatiana Burg Mlynarz, Tereza Ferreira Zolli, Verônica Borges Carneiro da Conceição, Gabriela Raphael Duarte, Roseli de Lima Santos, Maíra de Souza Oliveira, Tatiana Cristina de Argenton e Queiroz, Alessandra Cristiane de Mello, Natália Onori Ferraz, Paula Montes, Ana Lucia da Silva Santos, Jucilene Braga Rodrigues, Julia Lima, Nyx Helena Tunes Zampieri, Lourdes Arasy Benítez Espinola

Contributors Sao Paulo

Eliana Amaro dos Santos (Seamstress)
Paula Correa Pedroso (Producer)
Yve Zolli Nolasco (Producer)
Fernanda Andrade (Videographer)
Suellen Santana Amaral (Videographer)
Cassia Roberta Araújo de Oliveira (Photographer)
Maria Clara Silva Loureiro (Photographer)

Performers Berlin

Pamela Bassi, Natalia Aly, Mizgina Rengin, Mayara Teston Barrios, Katia Akemi, Jarita Freydank, Jahia, Fatima Ismayilova

Contributors Berlin

Yuki Kojima (Fabric installation in the staircase)
Thais Nepomuceno (videographer)
Natascha Gass (Photographer)

 

This project is part of Oyoun's second curatorial focus Mightier than a trampled flower and was supported by the Goethe-Institut São Paulo.

AS* PAPANGUS

our carnival, our body, our fight

AS_Website_new

:: For the English text, please change the language setting of the website or click here.::

Unser Karneval, unser Körper, unser Kampf

Im Oktober 2019 traf ich Papangus, in der Stadt Bezerros in Pernambuco, Brasilien. Die Papangu-Maske ist seit mindestens einem Jahrhundert Teil der Vorstellung von Pernambuco und wird von den Menschen auf den Straßen während des Karnevals belebt, ergänzt durch ein Ganzkörperkostüm. Die Einwohner*innen von Bezerros sagen, dass die Maske von den Männern benutzt wurde, um den Karneval vor den Frauen* verborgen zu feiern, dass sie sich in Papangu verkleideten und unerkannt feierten. Und wo sind in dieser populären Vorstellung die Papangu-Frauen*? (Bruna Amaro)

AS* PAPANGUS ist ein Karneval für, von und mit Frauen*, das keine marginalisierten Körper objektiviert.

In AS* PAPANGUS führt die afro-brasilianische Künstlerin Bruna Amaro mit über 50 Frauen* in São Paulo und Berlin einen Karneval in seiner queer*feministischsten und dekolonialsten Form auf. Unter den Papangu-Masken verschwinden die Gesichtsidentitäten und es entsteht ein kollektiver Körper. Dieser Körper ist ein Schlachtfeld für das Überleben, den Widerstand und den Wiederaufbau. AS* PAPANGUS ist eine Zusammenkunft von Kämpferinnen*, um ihr Leben und Überleben zu feiern und zu ehren.

AS* PAPANGUS Workshop

In diesem partizipatorischen Projekt wird in einer Reihe von Performance-Workshops der Grundstein für die folgenden Aktionen gelegt. Während des zweitägigen Workshops in São Paulo erarbeiten die Künstlerin und die Teilnehmenden gemeinsam Bewegungen und Aussagen für die Straßenperformance. Die Aussagen, die Erfahrungen des Überlebens, der Transformation, und der Arbeit ausdrücken, werden auf die Kostüme gestickt, die von Bruna Amaro und der Näherin Eliana Amaro dos Santos, handgefertigt wurden.

Bei der Aufführung am 10. April laufen 40 Frauen* mit der Papangu-Kleidung durch die Straßen von São Paulo, mit den Aussagen auf der Brust, in handgefertigten Requisiten, und zur festlichen Musik tanzend. Sie lassen ihre Körper sprechen und die Körper werden zu Fahnen des Triumphs.

AS* PAPANGUS Straße

In der anschließenden multimedialen Ausstellung im Oyoun Berlin vom 30. April bis 27. Mai wird die Videodokumentation der Karnevalsperformance in São Paulo auf die Kostüme und Masken projiziert. Die Kostüme aus São Paulo werden von 10 Frauen* in Berlin wieder aufgegriffen, die an einem zweitägigen Workshop und der anschließenden Straßenperformance in der Nachbarschaft von Oyoun teilnehmen. Andere FLINTA*Personen sind eingeladen, sich der Prozession durch die Straßen von Neukölln anzuschließen.

Ich verstehe die Papangu-Maske als ein Objekt, das das Gesicht und den Körper bedeckt, in direkter Anlehnung an einige Kulturen des Westens des afrikanischen Kontinents — wie die Geledes der Yoruba und das Volk der Bobo in Burkina Faso. Ich sehe die Maske auch als magisches und mächtiges Objekt, wie im Noh- und im balinesischen Theater — der Auslöser der Inkarnation. Wir werden die Papangu-Maske aktivieren, während wir unsere bedeckten Gesichter und entblößten Körper feiern und das Recht auf festliche Anonymität einfordern. (Bruna Amaro)

In patriarchalischen Gesellschaften haben oft nur Männer das Recht, auf der Bühne aufzutreten und Masken als performatives Werkzeug und künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel zu tragen — so auch in Bezerros-Tradition, wo nur die Männer die Papangu-Masken getragen haben. Mit AS* PAPANGUS stellt Bruna Amaro die Frage: Wer darf anonym sein, wer darf sich von sozialen Normen befreien, wer darf sich dem Moment der Befreiung hingeben? Papangu-Frauen* auf den Straßen von São Paulo und Berlin fordern das Recht auf das Maskieren zurück und beleben seine magische Kraft.

AS* PAPANGUS setzt sich kritisch mit der kolonialen Struktur des Karnevals auseinander, indem es dem unterdrückerischen Blick wachsam begegnet und die Ausbeutung von queeren, rassifizierten Körpern, Körpern der Frauen*, Körpern mit Beeinträchtigung und strukturell unterdrückten Körpern nicht zulässt. Papangu-Frauen* gehen nicht auf die Straße, um konsumiert zu werden, sondern, um sich selbst zu feiern.

AS* PAPANGUS eröffnet das erste Kapitel von Oyouns kuratorischem Schwerpunkt Mightier than a Trampled Flower, der das Leben von Frauen* in Kriegen im dekolonialen Kontext in den Mittelpunkt stellt und die kanonischen Narrative von Frauen* im Krieg dekonstruiert.

 

Kuratorin: Dami Choi (Oyoun)

Produziert von Oyoun Berlin mit freundlicher Unterstützung vom Goethe-Institut São Paulo.

Für das öffentliche Programm von AS* PAPANGUS, clicke hier.

AS* PAPANGUS sketch by Bruna Amaro
Bruna Amaro

Mitwirkende

Performers São Paulo

Thais Aline Ferreira Lúcio da Silva, Flávia Fernandes Belletati, Carmen Cardoso Garcia, Ana Paula da Paz Alves, Juliana Bueno, Iasmin Souza Ribeiro, Larissa Maranho, Clarissa Teixeira Ximenes, Anelise Torres Blanco, Camila de Sousa Trindade, Gabriela Bergamasco, Ana Luiza Chieffi, Iara Santa Clara Coutinho, Graciela Pereira Cruz Soares, Mariana Queiroz da Silva, Melissa Menezes, Gabriela Zuculin, Andressa Arena da Silva, Núria Cordeiro Vieira, Tatiana Burg Mlynarz, Tereza Ferreira Zolli, Verônica Borges Carneiro da Conceição, Gabriela Raphael Duarte, Roseli de Lima Santos, Maíra de Souza Oliveira, Tatiana Cristina de Argenton e Queiroz, Alessandra Cristiane de Mello, Natália Onori Ferraz, Paula Montes, Ana Lucia da Silva Santos, Jucilene Braga Rodrigues, Julia Lima, Nyx Helena Tunes Zampieri, Lourdes Arasy Benítez Espinola

Contributors São Paulo

Eliana Amaro dos Santos (Seamstress)
Paula Correa Pedroso (Producer)
Yve Zolli Nolasco (Producer)
Fernanda Andrade (Videographer)
Suellen Santana Amaral (Videographer)
Cássia Roberta Araújo de Oliveira (Photographer)
Maria Clara Silva Loureiro (Photographer)

Performers Berlin

Pamela Bassi, Natalia Aly, Mizgina Rengin, Mayara Teston Barrios, Katia Akemi, Jarita Freydank, Jahia, Fatima Ismayilova

Contributors Berlin

Yuki Kojima (Fabric installation in the staircase)
Thais Nepomuceno (Videographer)
Natascha Gass (Photographer)