Nadja Makhlouf

Nadja Makhlouf is a French-Algerian photographer and video film maker. Her work specifi- cally explores key questions of the role of memory, history and social change in respect to the place women in Algerian society.

After she graduated from a Baccalaureate in Literature, she studied Documentary making in Aix-Marseille University. She then went on experimenting through different projects in cinema and photography. More than 5 years working for other people in different positions, she embraces all the responsibilities to give birth to an audiovisual trilogy and a photographic exhibition.

For four years she worked on a three-part project on the status of women in Algeria, each consisting of a photographic exhibition and a documentary film.

The first part presents "Fatale Frauen", photographic portraits of the Kabyle women in today's Algeria, "Allah Ghaleb", the accompanying film, reports on the private everyday life of these women. The film won the Audience Award at the festival: "Look at the World Cinema" in Rouen, France, 2012.

The second part "El Moudjahidate: Invisible to Visible, women fighters", focuses on Female fighters for the war of independence in Algeria, from the past to the present. Nadja filmed a documentary titled “The Moudjahida, the Fighters' Wives”, showing what remains from their fight today.

The third part is about the Touareg women in the Algerian desert. She focuses on the power of these women in matriarchal society.

She is currently working on an ongoing project entitled "I am a Feminist Woman and I am a Muslim". This project looks at the lives of women in France who are both Muslim and feminist.
Nadja uses photography to depict the invisible world of women. She wants to break with the stereotype of “Arab” women or so-called “Oriental” women. She gives them back their freedom, their dignity and the possibility to express their own world. She focuses her work on spreading their word.

PROFILE  

Nadja Makhlouf

Nadja Makhlouf ist eine französisch-algerische Fotografin und Filmregisseurin. Ihre Arbeit hinterfragt verschiedene Aspekte des historischen Gedächtnisses, die Geschichte sozialer Themen und insbesondere der Stellung der Frau in Algerien.
Nach ihrem Abitur in Literatur studierte sie Dokumentarfilm an der Universität Aix-Marseille. Danach experimentierte sie mit verschiedenen Projekten im Bereich Kino und Fotografie. Nach mehr als 5 Jahren Arbeit für andere Leute in verschiedenen Positionen übernimmt sie nun in allen Bereichen Verantwortung, um eine audiovisuelle Trilogie und eine Fotoausstellung ins Leben zu rufen.
Vier Jahre lang arbeitete sie an einem dreiteiligen Projekt über den Status von Frauen in Algerien, das aus einer Fotoausstellung und einem Dokumentarfilm besteht.
Der erste Teil präsentiert „Fatale Frauen“, fotografische Porträts der kabylischen Frauen im heutigen Algerien, „Allah Ghaleb“, der dazugehörige Film, berichtet aus dem privaten Alltag dieser Frauen. Der Film gewann den Publikumspreis auf dem Festival „Look at the World Cinema“ in Rouen, Frankreich, 2012.
Der zweite Teil „El Moudjahidate: Von unsichtbar zu sichtbar, Kämpferinnen“ konzentriert sich auf die Kämpferinnen des Unabhängigkeitskrieges in Algerien, von früher bis heute. Was von dem Kampf heute bleibt, hat Nadja in dem Dokumentarfilm „Die Moudjahida, die Frauen der Kämpfer“ gedreht.
Der dritte Teil handelt von den Touareg-Frauen in der algerischen Wüste. Sie konzentriert sich auf die Macht dieser Frauen in der matriarchalischen Gesellschaft.
Zurzeit arbeitet sie an einem laufenden Projekt mit dem Titel „Ich bin eine feministische Frau und ich bin muslimisch“. Dieses Projekt befasst sich mit dem Leben von Frauen in Frankreich, die sowohl muslimisch als auch feministisch sind.
Nadja nutzt die Fotografie, um die unsichtbare Welt der Frauen darzustellen. Sie möchte mit dem Stereotyp der „arabischen“ Frauen oder der sogenannten „orientalischen“ Frauen brechen. Sie gibt ihnen ihre Freiheit, ihre Würde und die Möglichkeit zurück, ihre eigene Welt auszudrücken. Sie konzentriert ihre Arbeit darauf, ihre Worte zu verbreiten.