loading events

" All events

  • This event has already taken place.

PERFORMING ARTS FESTIVAL | Workshop #2: Cross-Species Togetherness – Togetherness, Fermentation and Bacterial Cultures

May 25, 2022 14:00 - 16:00

All people who are interested in experimenting and want to explore new forms of cross-species togetherness are welcome in this workshop.

This workshop deals with the art of fermentation, one of the oldest methods of preserving food on the one hand and changing its taste on the other. Depending on the culture, the recipes are very different. One thing remains in common, namely the conversion of food with the help of bacterial, fungal and cell cultures. Food and especially the process of fermentation can be viewed as a medium of social interaction of sharing and coming together. The joint preparation, perception and tasting represents an identity-forming and existential component of social connection, a form of togetherness. The concept was inspired by the artistic practice of Melina Matzanke.

 

Please bring: 1 clean preserving jar (0,5 - 1,0 liters).

>> Free entry!

Registration is requested.

Information on other Oyoun events as part of the Performing Arts Festival can be found in our program or on www.performingarts-festival.de!

 

About the artists:

Menna Tan (INTERSPACE_COLLECTIVE)
Mengna Tan (she/they) is a German-Chinese artist. In her work she plays with East Asian narratives, traditions and aesthetics that influenced her as a child of Chinese migrants in Germany. She is currently researching East Asian cyberpunk, anime and science fiction, and feminist utopias. She completed a Bachelor of Fine Arts at the Berlin University of the Arts and a Bachelor in German Studies at the Freie Universität Berlin. Mengna Tan is currently completing her Masters in Fine Arts at the Berlin University of the Arts in Christine Streuli's class. In 2021, Mengna Tan founded the BiPoC group Interspace Collective together with other students, an artist collective that provides a platform for BiPoC artists. She was part of the curatorial team of the exhibition "Kein Schlaraffenland" in the PSR Heizhaus by Uferstudios, which dealt with asymmetric power relations of food in colonialism and deep-seated postcolonial structures of nutritional practices and food. They worked together with the food and art collective "soydivision". She is also part of the editorial team for the student magazine "eigenart" at the Berlin University of the Arts.

Jamila Barakat (INTERSPACE_COLLECTIVE)
Jamila Barakat (she/her) is a German-Palestinian artist and teacher living and working in Berlin. She is studying MA fine arts at the Berlin University of the Arts and political science at the Freie Universität Berlin. In her artistic work she focuses on painterly references to vulnerability, fertility, connectedness and mortality and addresses questions about being human, in particular how human beings are shaped by the post-capitalist age in becoming one. Her works create organic imaginations that are compared to a cosmos of infinity and are reminiscent of the pictorial boundary between natural organisms and utopian worlds. In 2018 she was a scholarship holder of the Dorothea Konwiarz Foundation and in 2021 she founded the Interspace Collective, a collective of non-white artists: inside the Berlin University of the Arts, which organizes projects and exhibitions with other non-white artists: inside and collectives to create a platform against build up the under-representation of BiPoC artists in the Berlin art scene. She was part of the curatorial team of the exhibition "Kein Schlaraffenland" in the PSR Heizhaus by Uferstudios, which dealt with asymmetric power relations of food in colonialism and deep-seated postcolonial structures of nutritional practices and food. They worked together with the food and art collective "soydivision".

 

◥ In Oyoun there is no place for sexism, queer hostility, transphobia, any form of racism or discrimination such as anti-black, anti-Muslim racism or anti-Semitism. The same applies to any kind of violent, aggressive or abusive behavior. Oyoun offers a safe space for everyone, an open forum for dialogue and a place where we support and stand up for one another. If someone or something is bothering you during an event, please contact a member of our staff who is there to help! If you have an experience to share with us after an event, please drop us a line e-mail or send us an anonymous message via  our site.

Details

Date:
May 25, 2022
Time:
14:00 - 16:00
Event Categories:
, ,
Event tags:
,

Venue

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Strasse 32
Berlin, 12049 Germany

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

PERFORMING ARTS FESTIVAL | Workshop #2: Artenübergreifendes Zusammensein – Togetherness, Fermentieren und Bakterienkulturen

25. Mai 14:00 - 16:00

In diesem Workshop sind alle Menschen willkommen, die sich für das Experimentieren interessieren und neue Formen des artenübergreifenden Zusammenseins erkunden möchten.

Dieser Workshop setzt sich mit der Kunst der Fermentation auseinander, eines der ältesten Methoden Lebensmittel einerseits haltbar zu machen und andererseits deren Geschmack zu verändern. Je nach Kultur sind die Rezepte ganz unterschiedlich. Dabei bleibt eines gemein, nämlich die Umwandlung der Lebensmittel mit Hilfe von Bakterien-, Pilz- und Zellkulturen. Dabei kann Essen und auch besonders der Prozess der Fermentation als Medium sozialer Interaktion des Teilens und des Zusammenkommens betrachtet werden. Das gemeinsame Zubereiten, Wahrnehmen und Schmecken stellt einen identitätsstiftenden und existenziellen Bestandteil sozialer Verbindung dar, eine Form der Togetherness. Das Konzept wurde durch die künstlerische Praxis von Melina Matzanke inspiriert.

 

Bitte mitbringen: 1 sauberes Einmachglas (0,5 - 1,0 Liter).

>> Eintritt frei!

Um eine Anmeldung wird gebeten.

Informationen zu weiteren Veranstaltungen vom Oyoun im Rahmen des Performing Arts Festivals findet ihr in unserem Programm oder auf www.performingarts-festival.de!

 

Über die Künstler*innen:

Mengna Tan (INTERSPACE_COLLECTIVE)
Mengna Tan (she/they) ist eine deutsch-chinesische Künstlerin. In ihren Arbeiten spielt sie mit ostasiatischen Narrativen, Traditionen und Ästhetiken, die sie als Kind chinesischer Migranten:innen in Deutschland beeinflusst haben. Derzeit recherchiert sie über ostasiatischen Cyberpunk, Anime und Science Fiction sowie feministische Utopien. Sie absolvierte einen Bachelor of Fine Arts an der Universität der Künste Berlin und einen Bachelor in Germanistik an der Freien Universität Berlin. Mengna Tan absolviert derzeit ihren Master in Fine Arts an der Universität der Künste Berlin in der Klasse von Christine Streuli. Im Jahr 2021 gründete Mengna Tan zusammen mit anderen Studierenden die BiPoC-Gruppe Interspace Collective, ein Künstler:innenkollektiv, das eine Plattform für BiPoC-Künstler:innen bietet. Sie war Teil des Kuratoren:innen-Teams der Ausstellung "Kein Schlaraffenland" im PSR Heizhaus von Uferstudios, die sich mit asymmetrischen Machtverhältnissen von Lebensmitteln im Kolonialismus und tief sitzenden postkolonialen Strukturen von Ernährungspraktiken und Lebensmitteln beschäftigte. Dabei arbeiteten sie mit dem Food- und Kunstkollektiv "soydivision" zusammen. Außerdem ist sie Teil des Redaktionsteams des Studierendenmagazins "eigenart" der Universität der Künste Berlin.

Jamila Barakat (INTERSPACE_COLLECTIVE)
Jamila Barakat (sie/ihr) ist eine in Berlin lebende und arbeitende deutsch-palästinensische Künstlerin und Lehrerin. Sie studiert MA Bildende Kunst an der Universität der Künste Berlin und Politikwissenschaft an der Freien Universität Berlin. In ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit konzentriert sie sich auf malerische Verweise auf Verletzlichkeit, Fruchtbarkeit, Verbundenheit und Sterblichkeit und thematisiert Fragen zum Menschsein, insbesondere wie Mensch durch das post-kapitalistische Zeitalter in der Ich-werdung geprägt wird. Ihre Arbeiten schaffen organische Imaginationen, die mit einem Kosmos der Unendlichkeit verglichen werden und an die bildliche Grenze zwischen natürlichen Organismen und utopischen Welten erinnern. 2018 war sie Stipendiatin der DorotheaKonwiarz-Stiftung und 2021 gründete sie das Interspace Collective, ein Kollektiv nicht-weißer Künstler:innen der Universität der Künste Berlin, das mit anderen nicht-weißen Künstler:innen und Kollektiven Projekte und Ausstellungen organisiert, um eine Plattform gegen die Unterrepräsentation von BiPoC-Künstler:innen in der Berliner Kunstszene aufzubauen. Sie war Teil des Kuratoren:innenTeams der Ausstellung "Kein Schlaraffenland" im PSR Heizhaus von Uferstudios, die sich mit asymmetrischen Machtverhältnissen von Lebensmitteln im Kolonialismus und tief sitzenden postkolonialen Strukturen von Ernährungspraktiken und Lebensmitteln beschäftigte. Dabei arbeiteten sie mit dem Food- und Kunstkollektiv "soydivision" zusammen.

 

◥ Im Oyoun ist kein Platz für Sexismus, Queerfeindlichkeit, Transfeindlichkeit, jegliche Form von Rassismus oder Diskriminierung wie antischwarzem, antimuslimischem Rassismus oder Antisemistismus. Dasselbe gilt für jede Art von gewalttätigem, aggressivem oder übergriffigem Verhalten. Oyoun bietet einen sicheren Raum für alle, ein offenes Forum für den Dialog und einen Ort, an dem wir uns gegenseitig unterstützen und füreinander einstehen. Wenn dich jemand oder etwas während einer Veranstaltung stört, wende dich bitte an ein Mitglied unseres Personals, das dafür da ist, dir zu helfen! Wenn du uns nach einer Veranstaltung eine Erfahrung mitteilen möchtest, schreibe uns bitte eine E-Mail oder sende uns eine anonyme Nachricht über unsere Website.

Details

Datum:
25. Mai
Zeit:
14:00 - 16:00
Veranstaltungskategorien:
, ,
Veranstaltung-Tags:
,

Veranstaltungsort

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Staße 32
Berlin, 12049 Deutschland

Veranstalter

Oyoun + Collaborator