a’21 Festival – Post Digital Ignorance x Techno Utopia

The a’21 Festival – Post Digital Ignorance x Techno Utopia successfully launched last night. Thank you to everyone who tuned in. You can (re)watch everything, including the full performance with Alsarah & the Nubatones here:



The past few decades have witnessed a tremendous proliferation of digital technology. References to a techno-utopia where knowledge would be available to each and all seemed to signal the possibility of positive social and cultural change while acknowledging a fundamental flaw. Digital technologies’ commitment to making knowledge accessible to all would supposedly produce a universal benefit and wellbeing which was partly realised but digital technologies did in no way result in a techno-utopia.

It has become apparent that besides letting vast amounts of knowledge accessible to ever more people, digital technologies are also powerful tools producing a peculiar kind of public ignorance, one that seems to proliferate amidst ever multiplying information and knowledge available in today’s digitalised environment. With a’21 Festival – Post Digital Ignorance x Techno Utopia, we aim to challenge the status quo while centring perspectives on non-human life, queer ecology, decolonising knowledge, forced displacement, and more.

:: 69+ artists, scientists and activists in 16 countries #SWANA #AFRICA #EUROPE #ASIA

:: 13 extraordinary creatives radically collaborating within an intensive laboratory

:: 50+ events: incl. performances, workshops, panels, sounds, lectures, exhibitions and screenings

:: PROGRAMME 2021 ::

w/ amberPlatform (Turkey), 16 March – 18 April
w/ Kounaktif (Morocco), 17 – 21 March w/ Sharhaban (Lebanon), 22 – 25 March
w/ BAAB Collective (Sudan) 1 April – 15 May
w/ Darağaç (Turkey), 2 April – 26 March
w/ DAHproject (Iran), 3 April – 7 May

See updating festival program on https://ambernetworkfestival.org/

// Produced by: Oyoun in collaboration with amberPlatform

// Curatorial Team: Amirali Ghasemi, Ali Cem Doğan, Cenkhan Aksoy, Christoph Wachter, Ebru Yetişkin, Ekmel Ertan, Hamza Chamas, Mathias Jud, Milad Forouzandeh, Mohsen Hazrat, Nina Martin, Rajaa Shamam, Youssef El Idrissi

// Participants include: Eda Sütunç, Danielle Brathwaite-Shirley, Mary Maggic, Rachel Uwa, Renata Salecl, Seloua Luste Boulbina, Pelin Tan, Yara Mekawei, and many more.

// Funded by: Capital Cultural Fund/ Berlin’s Hauptstadtkulturfond