loading events

" All events

  • This event has already taken place.

LOOK AT ME: Syria between war and peace - panel discussion

October 12, 2021 18:00 am - 20:00

Panel discussion with Dr. Dörthe Engelcke (moderator), Dr. André Bank (panelist), Dr. Andreas Reinicke Ambassador retired (panelist) and Ferdinand Dürr (panelist). Note: The event takes place in German.

What political options does Germany have?

An estimated half a million dead, countless war invalids and millions of refugees at home and abroad: ten years after the start of the uprising against the ruler Assad, Syria is a devastated and impoverished country. With unimaginable violence, the regime was able to decide in its favor the civil war, which in the meantime assumed the features of a proxy war between international and regional powers, and now controls the majority of the battered country again.

While a negotiated conflict resolution, let alone national reconciliation, and the return of the Syrians who fled abroad is not in sight, the guns are now largely silent - at least -.

Dealing with Syria's regime and, above all, the question of European involvement in the reconstruction of Syria also poses a political dilemma for Germany's foreign and development policy. We would like to discuss possible options for German and European politics, their consequences and the - as a result - expected alternatives with well-known experts from science and diplomacy as well as with activists.

Event start: 18:00

🎟️ This event is free of charge. However, registration is required >>> Look here

More information about the course of the event >>> Look here

****

About the panelists:

dr Dorthe Engelcke (Moderator) graduated from St Antony's College, Oxford University. Before joining the Max Planck Institute, Engelcke was a "fellow" at the Islamic Legal Studies Program at Harvard Law School and at the Lichtenberg College of the Göttingen Institute of Advanced Study.

dr Andre Bank (Panelist) is Senior Research Fellow at the GIGA Institute for Middle East Studies in Hamburg. His work and research interests include authoritarianism and conflict dynamics in the Middle East, with a special focus on Syria and its neighboring states.

Dr. Andreas Reinicke Ambassador ret (Panelist) looks back on a long diplomatic career. Among other things, he was the German ambassador to Syria from 2008-2012 and EU special envoy for the peace process in the Middle East from 2012-2013. In 2021 he was appointed director of the German Orient Institute.

Ferdinand Durr (Panelist) is the managing director and co-founder of the German-Syrian solidarity initiative “Adopt a Revolution”, which since 2011 has supported more than 40 Syrian civil groups in their work. Dürr previously worked as a campaigner on the topic of climate change.

****

This event is a cooperation between the Beirut and Berlin offices of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom (IG: @stiftungfuerdiefreiheit) and SyriaUntold eV (IG: @syriauntold)

IMPORTANT: A daily, negative corona test (rapid test) or a complete vaccination certificate (14 days after the last required individual vaccination, as electronic vaccination certificate, paper vaccination pass is not sufficient) or proof of recovery (maximum 6 months is not sufficient) is required for participation old positive test). Mouth and nose protection must be worn indoors (except at the seat). The usual Corona distance rules of 1,5 meters to people outside your own household must be observed.

Details

Date:
October 12, 2021
cooking time:
18:00 - 20:00
Event Categories:
, , , ,
Event tags:

Venue

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Strasse 32
Berlin, 12049 Germany

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

LOOK AT ME: Syrien zwischen Krieg und Frieden – Podiumsdiskussion

12. Oktober 18:00 - 20:00

Podiumsdiskussion mit Dr. Dörthe Engelcke (Moderatorin), Dr. André Bank (Panelist), Dr. Andreas Reinicke Botschafter a.D. (Panelist) und Ferdinand Dürr (Panelist). Hinweis: Die Veranstaltung findet auf Deutsch statt.

Welche politischen Handlungsoptionen hat Deutschland?

Schätzungsweise eine halbe Million Tote, unzählige Kriegsversehrte und Millionen Geflüchtete im In- und Ausland: Zehn Jahre nach dem Beginn des Aufstands gegen Machthaber Assad ist Syrien ein verwüstetes und verarmtes Land. Mit unvorstellbarer Gewalt hat das Regime den Bürgerkrieg, der zwischenzeitlich Züge eines Stellvertreterkriegs internationaler und regionaler Mächte annahm, zu seinen Gunsten entscheiden können und kontrolliert inzwischen wieder den Großteil des geschundenen Landes.

Während eine verhandelte Konfliktlösung, gar nationale Aussöhnung sowie die Rückkehr der ins Ausland geflohenen Syrer*innen nicht in Sicht ist, so schweigen doch inzwischen - zumindest - weitgehend die Waffen.

Der Umgang mit Syriens Regime und vor allem die Frage nach einem europäischen Engagement beim Wiederaufbau Syriens stellt auch Deutschlands Außen- und Entwicklungspolitik vor ein politisches Dilemma. Mit namhaften Expert*innen aus Wissenschaft und Diplomatie sowie mit Aktivist*innen möchten wir über mögliche Handlungsoptionen deutscher und europäischer Politik, ihrer Konsequenzen und den – im Ergebnis - zu erwartenden Alternativen diskutieren.

Eventstart: 18:00

🎟️ Diese Veranstaltung ist kostenfrei. Eine Anmeldung ist jedoch erforderlich >>> Siehe hier

Mehr Infos über den Ablauf der Veranstaltung >>> Siehe hier

****

Über die Panelist*innen:

Dr. Dörthe Engelcke (Moderatorin) promovierte am St Antony’s College der Universität Oxford. Vor ihrer Tätigkeit am Max Planck Institut war Engelcke "fellow" am Islamic Legal Studies Program der Harvard Law School sowie am Lichtenberg-Kolleg des Göttingen Institute of Advanced Study.

Dr. André Bank (Panelist) ist Senior Research Fellow am GIGA Institut für Nahost-Studien in Hamburg. Zu seinen Arbeits- und Forschungsschwerpunkten zählen Autoritarismus und Konfliktdynamiken im Nahen Osten, mit einem besonderen Fokus auf Syrien und seinen Nachbarstaaten.

Dr. Andreas Reinicke Botschafter a.D. (Panelist) blickt auf eine lange diplomatische Laufbahn zurück. So war er u.a. von 2008-2012 deutscher Botschafter in Syrien und von 2012-2013 EU-Sonderbeauftragter für den Friedensprozess im Nahen Osten. 2021 wurde er als Direktor des Deutschen Orient Instituts berufen.

Ferdinand Dürr (Panelist) ist Geschäftsführer und Mitgründer der deutsch-syrischen Solidaritätsinitiative „Adopt a Revolution“, die seit 2011 mehr als 40 syrische zivile Gruppen in ihrer Arbeit unterstützt haben. Zuvor war Dürr als Campaigner zum Thema Klimawandel tätig.

****

Diese Veranstaltung ist eine Kooperation der Büros Beirut und Berlin der Friedrich-Naumann-Stiftung für die Freiheit (IG: @stiftungfuerdiefreiheit) und SyriaUntold e.V. (IG: @syriauntold)

WICHTIG: Für die Teilnahme ist ein tagesaktueller, negativer Corona-Test (Schnelltest) oder ein vollständiger Impfnachweis (14 Tage nach der letzten erforderlichen Einzelimpfung, als elektronischer Impfnachweis, Impfpass aus Papier reicht nicht aus) oder ein Nachweis über eine Genesung (maximal 6 Monate alter positiver Test) vorzulegen. In Innenräumen (außer am Sitzplatz) muss ein Mund-Nase-Schutz getragen werden. Die üblichen Corona-Abstandsregeln von 1,5 Metern zu Personen außerhalb des eigenen Haushaltes sind einzuhalten.

Details

Datum:
12. Oktober
Zeit:
18:00 - 20:00
Veranstaltungskategorien:
, , , ,
Veranstaltung-Tags:

Veranstaltungsort

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Staße 32
Berlin, 12049 Deutschland

Veranstalter

Oyoun + Collaborator