loading events

" All events

  • This event has already taken place.

Performance | Llewellyn Mnguni: Resilience

September 21 20:00 pm - 21:00

€ 7,00 - € 10,00

Resilience tells the true and complicated story of a South African born LGBTQIA+ member and activist who was raised in the strict Setswana culture of South Africa. Being gay and an artist created obstacles due to old values of previous generations and the influences of society whereby the identity of man is consistently under siege, misrepresented and always under scrutiny. Inevitably the stories of the LGBTI in settings such as this, are not shared, documented neither are they celebrated in the hopes of triumph and understanding from others.

This work shines the light on people in the community who are different and don’t fit into the typical norm of society, it is based on facets of gender expression and cultural identity, tackling the issues whereby there in an ongoing phenomenon, where members of LGBTI community perish unnecessarily because of hate. The work also allows the body to see it itself in its most beautiful form and presence.

Ticket: €7 workshop participants | 10.- € presale | €15 at the box office
Language: English | no language

In addition to the performance, there will be a contemporary dance workshop by Llewellyn Mnguni on 21 September(16:30 p.m. - 18:00 p.m.) and 22 September(18:00 p.m. - 19:30 p.m.).

Choreography / Creative Direction: Llewellyn Mnguni
Music / Composition: Aux Alaio
Costumes: Siyababa 
Photos: Travys Owen

BIOGRAPHIES

_Llewellyn Mnguni

Dancer and choreographer Llewellyn Mnguni began training at the age of 14 at the Mmabana Mmabatho Arts Council as a Latin American and Ballroom dance student and continued to compete on a professional level from 1999-2002. In 2003 they attended the National School of the Arts and thereafter obtained a Dance Teachers Diploma at the University of Cape Town School of Dance School in the year 2010.

Mnguni also joined the Mmabana Dance Company as a full time dance teacher and choreographer from 2007-2009. While completing their final year in high school (Grade 12) they performed and choreographed for the National Arts Festival in Grahamstown in 2006 for their work ‘Prozac’ and then the GIPCA Live Arts Festival under the directorship of Jay Pather in 2012. In 2010 they joined the Bovim Ballet company under the directorship of Sean Bovim. Mnguni has performed with the likes of Celeste Botha and Marlin Zoutman during their time as a company member of New World Dance Theatre.

They have collaborated with well acclaimed artists such as Ahmed Umar for “Tribute to Ali” an exhibition at the Format gallery in Oslo. They have performed the challenging roles of Odile in Swan Lake, Escamilio in Carmen and Myrtha in Giselle for Dada Masilo's extensive Asian,European, Canadian and US during 2013-2017, Mnguni also collaborated with visual artist/LGBTI activist Zanele Muholi and Lerato Dumse for a series of exhibitions and site specific shows during the 2016 Oslo gay pride week.

Llewellyn's experience as a dance educator ranges from teaching in dance companies, elementary and high schools to workshops in South Africa and Europe. Mnguni continues to engage as a multifaceted artist, delivering talks and workshops that inspire and support the universal LGBTI community, and collaborating with and inspiring emerging dancers and artists.

 

◥ In Oyoun there is no place for sexism, queer hostility, transphobia, any form of racism or discrimination such as anti-black, anti-Muslim racism or anti-Semitism. The same applies to any kind of violent, aggressive or abusive behavior. Oyoun offers a safe space for everyone, an open forum for dialogue and a place where we support and stand up for one another. If someone or something is bothering you during an event, please contact a member of our staff who is there to help! If you have an experience to share with us after an event, please email us (hallo@oyoun.de) or send us an anonymous message via our site.

Details

Date:
21 September
cooking time:
20:00 - 21:00
Admission:
€ 7,00 - € 10,00
Event Categories:
,
Event tags:
, , ,

Venue

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Strasse 32
Berlin, 12049 Germany
Show Google Map

Organizer

Oyoun

Cards

The number below contains tickets for this event from the shopping cart. Existing participant information can be edited and the number of tickets changed by clicking on "Buy tickets".
Maps are no longer available

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

Performance | Llewellyn Mnguni: Resilience

21. September 20:00 - 21:00

7,00€ – 10,00€

Resilience erzählt die wahre und komplizierte Geschichte eines in Südafrika geborenen LGBTQIA+-Aktivisten, der in der strengen Setswana-Kultur Südafrikas aufgewachsen ist. Homosexuell und ein Künstler zu sein, brachte Hindernisse mit sich, die auf die alten Werte früherer Generationen und die Einflüsse der Gesellschaft zurückzuführen sind, in der die Identität eines Mannes ständig unter Beschuss steht, falsch dargestellt und immer wieder hinterfragt wird. Es ist unvermeidlich, dass die Geschichten von LGBTI-Personen in einem Umfeld wie diesem weder geteilt und dokumentiert, noch in der Hoffnung auf Triumph und Verständnis von anderen gefeiert werden.

Diese Arbeit wirft ein Licht auf Menschen in der Gemeinschaft, die anders sind und nicht in die typische Norm der Gesellschaft passen. Sie basiert auf den Facetten des Geschlechtsausdrucks und der kulturellen Identität und befasst sich mit den Problemen, bei denen Mitglieder der LGBTI-Gemeinschaft unnötigerweise aufgrund von Hass umkommen. Die Arbeit ermöglicht es auch, den Körper selbst in seiner schönsten Form und Präsenz zu sehen.

Ticket: 7.- € Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen | 10.- € Vorverkauf | 15.- € Abendkasse
Sprache: Englisch | Keine Sprache

Neben der Performance wird es am 21. September (16:30 Uhr - 18:00 Uhr) und 22. September (18:00 Uhr - 19:30 Uhr) jeweils einen Contemporary Dance Workshop unter der Leitung von Llewellyn Mnguni geben.

Choreografie / Creative Direction: Llewellyn Mnguni
Musik / Komposition: Aux Alaio
Kostüme: Siyababa 
Fotos: Travys Owen

BIOGRAFIE

_Llewellyn Mnguni

Tänzer*in und Choreograf*in Llewellyn Mnguni begann im Alter von 14 Jahren eine Ausbildung in lateinamerikanischem Tanz und Gesellschaftstanz am Mmabana Mmabatho Arts Council und nahm von 1999 bis 2002 an professionellen Wettbewerben teil. Im Jahr 2003 besuchte Llewellyn die National School of the Arts und erwarb anschließend im Jahr 2010 ein Tanzlehrenden-Diplom an der University of Cape Town School of Dance School.

Von 2007 bis 2009 war Mnguni als Vollzeit-Tanzlehrer*in und Choreograf*in für die Mmabana Dance Company tätig. Während des letzten Schuljahres (Klasse 12) trat Llewellyn 2006 mit dem Stück "Prozac" beim National Arts Festival in Grahamstown auf und choreografierte im Jahr 2012 für das GIPCA Live Arts Festival unter der Leitung von Jay Pather. Im Jahr 2010 wurde Llewellyn Mitglied des Bovim Balletts unter der Leitung von Sean Bovim. Während der Zeit als Ensemblemitglied des New World Dance Theatre ist Mnguni unter anderem mit Celeste Botha und Marlin Zoutman aufgetreten.

Neben der Zusammenarbeit mit renommierten Künstlern wie Ahmed Umar für die Ausstellung "Tribute to Ali" in der Galerie Format in Oslo hat Llewellyn die anspruchsvollen Rollen der Odile in Schwanensee, des Escamilio in Carmen und der Myrtha in Giselle für Dada Masilos umfangreiche Asien-, Europa-, Kanada- und US-Aufführungen in den Jahren 2013-2017 gespielt. Mnguni hat auch mit dem bildenden Künstler*innen/LGBTI-Aktivisten Zanele Muholi und Lerato Dumse für eine Reihe von Ausstellungen und ortsspezifischen Shows während der Osloer Gay Pride Week 2016 zusammengearbeitet.

Llewellyns Erfahrung als Tanzpädagog*in reichen vom Unterrichten in Tanzkompanien, Grund- und Oberschulen bis hin zu Workshops in Südafrika und Europa. Mnguni beschäftigt sich weiterhin als vielseitige*r Künstler*in, hält Vorträge und Workshops, die die universelle LGBTI-Gemeinschaft inspirieren und unterstützen und arbeitet mit aufstrebenden Tänzer*innen und Künstler*innen zusammen und inspiriert sie.

 

◥ Im Oyoun ist kein Platz für Sexismus, Queerfeindlichkeit, Transfeindlichkeit, jegliche Form von Rassismus oder Diskriminierung wie antischwarzem, antimuslimischem Rassismus oder Antisemistismus. Dasselbe gilt für jede Art von gewalttätigem, aggressivem oder übergriffigem Verhalten. Oyoun bietet einen sicheren Raum für alle, ein offenes Forum für den Dialog und einen Ort, an dem wir uns gegenseitig unterstützen und füreinander einstehen. Wenn dich jemand oder etwas während einer Veranstaltung stört, wende dich bitte an ein Mitglied unseres Personals, das dafür da ist, dir zu helfen! Wenn du uns nach einer Veranstaltung eine Erfahrung mitteilen möchtest, schreibe uns bitte eine E-Mail (hallo@oyoun.de) oder sende uns eine anonyme Nachricht über unsere Website.

Details

Datum:
21. September
Zeit:
20:00 - 21:00
Eintritt:
7,00€ – 10,00€
Veranstaltungskategorien:
,
Veranstaltung-Tags:
, , ,

Veranstaltungsort

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Staße 32
Berlin, 12049 Deutschland
Google Karte anzeigen

Veranstalter

Oyoun

Karten

Die unten stehende Nummer beinhaltet Karten für diese Veranstaltung aus dem Warenkorb. Durch einen Klick auf "Karten kaufen" können vorhandene Teilnehmerinformationen bearbeitet sowie die Kartenanzahl verändert werden.
Karten sind nicht länger verfügbar