loading events

" All events

  • This event has already taken place.

Black in Berlin x Sboutiful

December 2, 2021 17:30 - 23:00

At the turn of the year 1794/95 the last slave ship “Sao Jose”, which was on its way to Brazil, sank with 512 black people at the gates of Cape Town. What does this story have with today's microaggression and Sblack reality to do?

"In commemoration of this story, today's reality of life for 512 black people in Berlin should visualize who we are: An integral part of this city, people of different professions and backgrounds, different dreams, embodiments of black identity. For me, it's about visualization, empowerment, reflection and encounters - with other people and with yourself - about dissolving mental boundaries and questioning yourself. I dream of a Berlin in which the facet of every black face is celebrated "- Yero Adugna Eticha.

The Berlin-based model label Sboutiful aims to preserve African culture by using handmade,
traditional fabrics, old weaving techniques, patterns and codes are placed in a contemporary context. You work with passionate artists in West Africa to create designs that are more than just colonial wax prints. Their oversized, mystical fabrics and unique, minimalist designs require more than just love for fashion - they require attitude and a long-term perspective for the future. Sboutiful's goal is to create a bridge between the African diaspora and Africans on the continent.

Program:

  • Entry: 17:30 p.m.
  • Start: 18: 00 clock 
  • Poetry: 19:00 p.m. to 20:30 p.m.
  • DJ set: 21:00 p.m. to 23:00 p.m.
  • Get your ticket here .

 

Asmaa Sbou is the curator and founder of Sboutiful, a fashion label that creates unique, handcrafted, sustainable and ethical African fashion. Together with the collective Ore Arts, a cross-generational collective of black, African and African-diasporic artists, they campaigned for more visibility in white cultural institutions. As an empowerment and transformation coach, she accompanies people on their own path of self-knowledge and self-love (IG: sboutiful, FB: sboutiful, Website).

Yero Adugna Eticha is a photographer from Oromia in Ethiopia who lives in Berlin and dedicates himself to the stories, perspectives and visions of black and African people. Since graduating from the Ostkreuz School for Photography (2011), he has been working on various photography projects, including: 

  • 2019 Atmospheres in the Urban Anthropocene (Aarhus of Architecture and Studio Olafur Eliasson)
  • 2018 Studio Olafur Eliasson (guest photographer)
  • In 2018 teaching at the Ale School of Fine Arts Addis Ababa involved
  • 2017 Choreographers Portraits (Tanz im August) 

The Ethiopian Project and Black in Berlin are two of Yero's current works, the latter being on view as part of the Boros Foundation's group exhibition at the 'Studio Berlin' in Berghain (IG:blackinberlin, FB: Yero Adugna Eticha, Website).

Other artists: Jaqee Nakiri (IG:jaqeenakirioofficial, FB: JAQEE Nakiri, website), Savannah Sipho (IG:saaah.sipho)

***

◥ Please note: The prerequisite for admission to events / exhibitions in Oyoun is a current vaccination / recovery certificate. You can find more information about the hygiene concept here.

◥ There is no place in Oyoun for sexism, queer phobia, transphobia, any form of racism or discrimination such as anti-black, anti-Muslim or anti-Jewish racism and any kind of violent or aggressive behavior. Oyoun offers a safe space for everyone, an open forum for dialogue and a place where we support and stand up for one another. If someone or something bothers you during an event, please contact a member of our staff who is there to help you! If you would like to tell us about an experience after an event, please write us an e-mail> awareness@oyoun.de or send us an anonymous message via our Website.

Details

Date:
December 2, 2021
cooking time:
17:30 - 23:00
Event Categories:
, ,

Venue

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Strasse 32
Berlin, 12049 Germany

Organizer

Oyoun

Lade Veranstaltungen

« Alle Veranstaltungen

  • Diese Veranstaltung hat bereits stattgefunden.

Black in Berlin x Sboutiful

2. Dezember 17:30 - 23:00

Zur Jahreswende 1794/95 versank das letzte Sklavenschiff „Sao Jose“, welches auf dem Weg nach Brasilien war,  mit 512 Schwarzen Personen vor den Toren Kapstadts. Was hat diese Geschichte mit der heutigen Mikroaggression und Schwarzer Realität zu tun?

"In Gedenken an diese Geschichte soll die heutige Lebensrealität von 512 Schwarzen Menschen in Berlin visualisieren, wer wir sind: Ein fester Bestandteil dieser Stadt, Menschen unterschiedlicher Professionen und Hintergründe, verschiedener Träume, Verkörperungen Schwarzer Identität. Es geht mir um Sichtbarmachung, Empowerment, Reflexion und Begegnung – mit anderen Menschen und sich selbst – darum, gedankliche Grenzen aufzulösen und sich selbst zu hinterfragen. Ich träume von einem Berlin, in dem die Facette eines jeden Schwarzen Gesichts gefeiert wird" - Yero Adugna Eticha.

Das in Berlin ansässige Modellabel Sboutiful verfolgt das Ziel afrikanische Kultur zu bewahren, indem handgefertigte,
traditionelle Stoffe, alte Webtechniken, Muster und Codes in einen zeitgenössischen Kontext gesetzt werden. Sie arbeiten mit leidenschaftlichen Künstler*innen in Westafrika, um Designs zu entwerfen, die mehr sind als nur koloniale Waxprints. Ihre übergroßen, mystischen Stoffe und einzigartigen, minimalistischen Designs erfordern mehr als nur Liebe für Mode – sie erfordern Haltung und eine langfristige Perspektive für die Zukunft. Sboutifuls Ziel ist es, eine Brücke zwischen der afrikanischen Diaspora und Afrikaner*innen auf dem Kontinent herzustellen.

Programm:

  • Einlass: 17:30 Uhr
  • Beginn: 18:00 Uhr 
  • Poetry: 19:00 bis 20:30 Uhr
  • DJ Set: 21:00 bis 23:00 Uhr
  • Sicher dir dein Ticket hier.

 

Asmaa Sbou ist Kuratorin und die Gründerin von Sboutiful, einem Modelabel das einzigartige, handgefertigte, nachhaltige und ethische afrikanische Mode kreiert. Gemeinsam mit dem Kollektiv Ore Arts, ein generationenübergreifendes Kollektiv von Schwarzen, afrikanischen und afrikanisch-diasporischen Künstlern, setzten sie sich für mehr Sichtbarkeit in weißen Kultureinrichtungen ein. Als Empowerment und transformation Coach begleitet sie Menschen auf ihren eigenen  Weg der Selbsterkenntnis und Selbstliebe (IG: sboutiful, FB: Sboutiful, Webseite).

Yero Adugna Eticha ist ein Fotograf aus Oromia in Äthiopien, der in Berlin lebt und sich an seiner Arbeit den Geschichten, Perspektiven und Visionen Schwarzer und afrikanischer Menschen widmet. Seit seinem Abschluss an der Ostkreuzschule für Fotografie (2011) arbeitet er an verschiedenen Fotografie Projekten u.a.: 

  • 2019 Atmospheres in the Urban Anthropocene (Aarhus of Architecture and Studio Olafur Eliasson)
  • 2018 Studio Olafur Eliasson (Gastfotograf)
  • 2018 Lehrtätigkeit an der Ale School of Fine Arts Addis Abeba involviert
  • 2017 Choreografen Portraits (Tanz im August) 

The Ethiopian Project und Black in Berlin sind zwei von Yeros derzeitigen Arbeiten, wobei letztere als Teil der Gruppenausstellung der Boros Foundation im ‚Studio Berlin’ im Berghain zu sehen war (IG:blackinberlin, FB: Yero Adugna Eticha, Webseite).

Weitere Künster*innen: Jaqee Nakiri (IG:jaqeenakiriofficial, FB: JAQEE Nakiri, Website), Savannah Sipho (IG:saaah.sipho)

***

◥  Bitte beachten: Voraussetzung für den Eintritt zu Events /Ausstellungen im Oyoun ist ein aktueller Impf- /Genesenennachweis. Weitere Infos zum Hygienekonzept findest du hier.

◥  Im Oyoun ist kein Platz für Sexismus, Queerphobie, Transphobie, jegliche Form von Rassismus oder Diskriminierung wie antischwarzem, antimuslimischem oder antijüdischem Rassismus und jede Art von gewalttätigem oder aggressivem Verhalten. Oyoun bietet einen sicheren Raum für alle, ein offenes Forum für den Dialog und einen Ort, an dem wir uns gegenseitig unterstützen und füreinander einstehen. Wenn dich jemand oder etwas während einer Veranstaltung stört, wende dich bitte an ein Mitglied unseres Personals, das dafür da ist, dir zu helfen! Wenn du uns nach einer Veranstaltung eine Erfahrung mitteilen möchtest, schreibe uns bitte eine E-Mail > awareness@oyoun.de oder sende uns eine anonyme Nachricht über unsere Website.

Details

Datum:
2. Dezember
Zeit:
17:30 - 23:00
Veranstaltungskategorien:
, ,

Veranstaltungsort

Oyoun
Lucy-Lameck-Staße 32
Berlin, 12049 Deutschland

Veranstalter

Oyoun