Al Maqamat Al Sabi 'المقامات † السبع † The 7 Pillars  

Ahmad Hijazi

Cartographies of affect - in the queer and now

Anna Wyszomierska

Al Maqamat Al Sabi' المقامات†السبع†The 7Pillars

In his visual dance theater piece “Al Maqamat Al Sabi' المقامات†السبع†The 7Pillars” inspired by the mystical belief in the 7 Maqamat – Ahmad took the viewer through the various stages of development a soul must go through in search of ultimate enlightenment.

These maqamat are twisted into a strange exploration of one's own experiences that unleash the repressed childhood memories of cyclomorphosis.

Childhood memories of cyclomorphoses, the in and out of past and present traumas in the diaspora, to connect the pieces of the in-between. It is a life's journey of questioning self-exile, broken identities, self-orientalism, the decolonization of queerness and language.

In order to attain a higher maqaam, one must continue to master the maqaam below and not allow oneself to be deprived of it.

“The soul in search of ultimate enlightenment – ​​Maqamat are twisted into a strange exploration of one's own experiences that unlock the repressed childhood memories of cyclomorphosis.”

Cartographies of affect - in the queer and now

A 10-day festival attended by more than 40 artists, tracing narratives of queer history and (contemporary) resistance with the aim of creating transnational solidarity. The aim of the festival was to collect experiences and practices from different cultures living in Berlin and the “Global South”, while introducing the idea of ​​intersectionality and showing how different forms of identification create synergies.

Al Maqamat Al Sabi' المقامات†السبع † The 7 Pillars  

Ahmad Hijazi

Kartografien des Affektes – im queer und jetzt

AnnaWyszomierska

Al Maqamat Al Sabi‘ المقامات†السبع†The 7Pillars

In seinem visuellen Tanztheaterstück “Al Maqamat Al Sabi‘ المقامات†السبع†The 7Pillars“ inspiriert durch den mystischen Glauben an die 7 Maqamat – brauchte Ahmad die Zuschauer durch die verschiedenen Entwicklungsstadien die eine Seele auf der Suche nach der ultimativen Erleuchtung durchlaufen muss.

Diese Maqamat werden zu einer seltsamen Erforschung der eigenen Erfahrungen verdreht, die die verdrängten Kindheitserinnerungen der Zyklomorphose freisetzen.

Kindheitserinnerungen von Zyklomorphosen, die in und aus vergangene und gegenwärtige Traumata in der Diaspora, um die Stücke des Dazwischen zu verbinden. Es ist eine Lebensreise der Befragung von Selbstexil, zerbrochenen Identitäten, Selbstorientalismus, Dekolonisierung von Queerness und Sprache.

Um ein höheres Maqaam zu erreichen, muss man weiterhin das Maqaam drunter beherrschen und sich nicht von ihm berauben lassen.

„Die Seele auf der Suche nach der ultimativen Erleuchtung – Maqamat werden zu einer seltsamen Erforschung der eigenen Erfahrungen verdreht, die die verdrängten Kindheitserinnerungen der Zyklomorphose freisetzen.“

Kartografien des Affektes – im queer und jetzt

Ein 10-tägiges Festival, an dem mehr als 40 Künstler*innen teilnahmen und Narrativen der queeren Geschichte und des (gegenwärtigen) Widerstands nachzeichneten, mit dem Ziel, transnationale Solidarität zu schaffen. Ziel des Festivals war es, Erfahrungen und Praktiken aus verschiedenen Kulturen, die in Berlin und im „globalen Süden“ leben, zu sammeln und gleichzeitig die Idee der Intersektionalität einzubringen und zu zeigen, wie verschiedene Formen von Identifikationen Synergien bilden.